Status Update – “Review the Reviewer”

It’s been 10 months since I launched my videogame blog. I feel that I’ve come a long way since I first started, both in my English writing skills as well as in my knowledge of the area. However, I still have a long way to go. As such, and even though this is mostly a personal experience for me, I think it would be interesting if readers out there would give an overall input on the blog, a chance for you to criticize me. I promise not to be offended, and I think that for the most part I won’t even try to defend myself. My goal is to know a little bit more about what you feel is right and wrong with my (re)views on games. Criticize harshly and complement lightly, for the first gives me knowledge to improve myself and the latter invites stagnation (though it makes me feel good with myself). Everything’s fair game for you to criticize, from my language skills, to the length of my posts, rate system, picture use, etc, etc, etc.

Thanks in advance.

    • Cruzifixio
    • October 7th, 2008

    I recently found your blog surfing the web and I have to say that most of the time your reviews are enjoyable but the most promising aspect of your reviews is the approach on games as MEDIUMS for art and not art by themselves wich reminds me of your amazing Darkness review.

    Keep it up you’re doin’ a great work

  1. My acquaintance with this blog is, in fact, as old as my acquaintance with you. Though I had met you before – I recall a few occasions in which we talked briefly – MetaGame was presented to me precisely at a time when I got to know you and your very commendable perspective about the world and industry of video games.

    I think MetaGame is a moment of inspiration, a genuine and open statement of love for the videogame medium and for the games that – you think – make a difference in the course of time. While some may claim it to be conceited or pretentious, this is in fact a serious place of debate and discussion, albeit the implicit humor in your texts, punctuating the presentation of your elaborate and thought-provoking viewpoints.

    By no means perfect, MetaGame – but a designation for your work – still has a long way to go. The judicious writing is, to the best of my understanding, slightly tainted by the use of the scoring system, an atavism that contrasts with the crafty presentation and written orientation. The fact that the blog focuses mostly on game reviews, there is only room for thorough analysis and texts, depriving the reader from the occasional and suggestive short text – a very important feature that grants the work with the much sought after balance.

    Though but a tiny speckle of light within the vast blogosphere, MetaGame shines with a light of its own, providing a rare example to the decayed videogame community. Like Frost’s poetic subject, you picked the road less travelled by: the hardest, yet noblest path where videogames are the object of reflection and admiration in the frame of Art and Science.

    Thanks for 10 months of great, hard work.

    Abraço,
    Bruno

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

